Opening Hours

The Avon Medical Practice

Day Opening hours
Thursday 20 June
8am to 6pm
Friday 21 June
8am to 6pm
Saturday 22 June
Closed
Sunday 23 June
Closed
Monday 24 June
8am to 6pm
Tuesday 25 June
8am to 6pm
Wednesday 26 June
8am to 6pm

Cander Centre

Day Opening hours
Thursday 20 June
8am to 6pm
Friday 21 June
8am to 6pm
Saturday 22 June
Closed
Sunday 23 June
Closed
Monday 24 June
8am to 6pm
Tuesday 25 June
8am to 6pm
Wednesday 26 June
8am to 6pm

Lunchtime Closures

Please note:  The practice will be closed for admin purposes between 13:00 – 14:00 daily, Monday to Friday.   During this time, should you require a doctor in an emergency, a mobile telephone number will be given when telephoning the usual practice number (Avon 01698 552930 or Cander 01698 794910).  This number will allow you access to a GP in surgery in the event of an emergency.   For all routine enquiries etc. please do not call between 13:00 – 14:00 as your request will not be processed.  

Consulting Times - Both Surgeries

 

Morning

Afternoon

Monday

08:30 - 12:00

15:00 - 17:20

Tuesday

08:30 - 12:00

14:40 - 17:20

Wednesday

08:30 - 12:00

14:40 - 17:20

Thursday

08:30 - 12:00

14:40 - 17:20

Friday

08:30 - 12:00

14:40- 17:20

Weekend

closed

closed


We also offer extended surgery hours
: We offer extended hours generally on the First Saturday of each month.  We also offer some early morning and late night appointments. Please contact the surgery for further details. 

As we have two surgeries, not every doctor consults at each surgery every day.

When We Are Closed

The out-of-hours service used is NHS 24 which can be contacted via the surgery telephone number or freephone directly to 111 between 18:00 to 08:00 Monday to Friday, and 18:00 Friday to 08:00 Monday. They can be found online at www.nhs24.com.

NHS 24 is commissioned by Lanarkshire Health Board to provide this service.

Call 999 in an emergency. Chest pains and / or shortness of breath constitute an emergency.

NHS 24

111/NHS inform online is a fast and convenient alternative to the 111 phone service and provides an option for people who want to access 111 digitally. 

Your needs will be assessed and you will be given advice about whether you need:

  • Treat yourself at home
  • Go to a Primary Care Centre

If you need face to face medical attention you may be asked to attend a Primary Care Centre.

Click here to access NHS 111 online or call 111 to speak to a staff member.

Closed on the following Bank Holidays

Public Holidays 2023/2024

PUBLIC HOLIDAYS 2023/2024

Please note the surgery will be closed on the following dates:

Easter 2023 – Friday 7th April and Monday 10th April 2023

May Day 2023 – Monday 1st May 2023

Bank holiday for the coronation of King Charles III – Monday 8th May 2023

Spring 2023 – Monday 29th May 2023

Fair Monday 2023 – Monday 17 July 2023

Autumn 2023 - Monday 25th September 2023

Christmas 2023 - Monday 25th December and Tuesday 26th December 2023

New Year 2024 Monday 1st January 2024 and Tuesday 2nd January 2024

 

If you require a doctor in an emergency, when the practice is closed, please call NHS 111.